2021 Martin Luther King Jr. Community Service Awards

Friday, January 22, 2021 from 12pm-1pm
Virtual Awards Ceremony

2021 Community Service Awards Video

To the Metropolitan Atlanta Community:

For over 20 years, the Rollins School of Public Health and the Goizueta Business School have honored the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. through the Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Service Awards Program. This celebration grew out of a 1993 conversation between Dr. Joyce Essien and then Dean of the School of Public Health, Ray Greenburg, where they agreed that it was time to align the mission and values of Public Health with the precepts of social justice. Since 2020, RSPH and Goizueta have partnered with the School of Medicine in this celebratory event. With support from James Curran, Dean of the Rollins School of Public Health, Karen Sedatole, Interim Dean of the Goizueta Business School, Vikas Sukhatme, Dean of the School of Medicine and as well as with the diligent work of faculty, staff, and students, this program has grown to be a major event on the calendar of King Week activities held at Emory. Our program is the only event that has consistently recognized and celebrated people and organizations in greater Atlanta whose work exemplifies the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

This year’s awards celebration is centered on MLK Jr.’s quote- “Only in the Darkness, Can You See the Stars.” With this, we recognize that despite the difficult times our communities and country have faced this year, there are people and moments that lift us up.

This year’s award will recognize individuals and groups from the Emory Community for their outstanding and unparalleled response to the twin pandemics of COVID-19 and systemic racism. Nominees may have demonstrated but are not limited to actions or initiatives within Emory or in the broader Atlanta communities that extend beyond typical responsibilities in service of addressing an issue or challenge raised by COVID-19 or systemic racism. 

2021 Community Service Awards Video


Sarah C. Blake, PhD, MA
Co-Chair, Rollins School of Public Health

Natalie Fields, MPH
Co-Chair, School of Medicine

Sheryl Heron, MD, MPH
Co-Chair, School of Medicine

Lynne Segall, MBA
Co-Chair, Goizueta Business School

Please contact Dr. Sarah Blake (scblake@emory.edu) with any questions.



Previous MLK Community Service Awards Programs | Previous Honorees